March 2011: Working as a Web Designer for the School of Social Sciences and Law, Oxford Brookes University; married to Emma for almost two years, living in my second (bought) house in Bicester. We have a loving menagerie of 7 cats, 4 chickens, 2 bunnies and some fish. Have been playing in a local band for 11 years now, and currently working on my second (proper) novel; seriously considering self-publishing the first as an eBook. Have visited Iceland three times now, and done conservation work all across Europe.

March 2001: Working as Electronic Content Quality Controller for Blackwell Science in Osney Mead, Oxford. House-hunting for a house to buy; likely to be Bicester but also looking at other satellite towns to Oxford. Single, no pets. Have been playing in a local band for just over one year. Looking forward to going to Iceland in a few months time; never been there before, but have always wanted to – I’m nervous about it, having done lots of conservation holidays in the past few years but all in the UK.

March 1991: Living in Lowestoft, Suffolk; doing A-Levels at Kirkley High School, and about to take exams. Hoping to go to university next September to Crewe+Alsager College of Higher Education. No girlfriends yet, and few friends (although lots of people I am friendly with), I am, or perceive myself to be quite shy, and I lack confidence in myself.

March 1981: Living in Lowestoft, Suffolk; attending Pakefield Primary School; best friend is Patrick Harboard. Learning to ride my bicycle; playing on the old golf course behind the house; playing with my trainset, and farm (which my Grandpa made for me); making up stories. I think my Grandpa is going to make me a toy theatre soon.